Chapter 3: A Lonely Christmas, pages 19-29

I feel so horrible for Yuki and her family, I cannot believe that the government would do such a thing to innocent people. Yuki is such a sweet girl and does so well in class. Her father has already been taken and put into an internment camp in Montana, now the government wants to do the same thing to all Japanese Americans and I can’t stand it. I want Yuki to remember me forever, so I am going to give her something very dear to my heart, one of my pearl rings that my husband has given me from his trips. She is so close to me and I couldn’t bare to know that she forgot about me.

download– Mrs. Jamieson

Chapter 4:  Ten Days to Pack, page 31-40

I hate seeing my family during this sad time, seeing them try to figure out what to keep and jam it into their suitcases and what prized possessions to throw away forever. Mother’s suitcase keeps growing bigger and bigger, and I am dreading the day I have to drag those suitcases through the camp gates, trying to convince them that I can carry it all so they let us take all of it. I have taken the name on the car so I can sell it and get some money, I have also gone behind Yuki’s back to try and find an owner for Pepper. I have only done it because I want to find the right person because I know Yuki loves him to death. We have the perfect person, Yuki approves, now that is one less thing to worry about.

– Kenichi

Chapter 5:  Inside the Barbed Wire, pages 41-47

Today is the day. We have to leave. I don’t want to go, but I know it is something that has to be done. Mother keeps going through the rooms, sweeping and making sure that we haven’t left anything. I don’t understand why she has to clean so much if we’re not even going to be living here anymore. Why does it matter if it’s dirty for the next people? Anyways, I am not going to get up from my bed until I absolutely have to. I’m freezing without a blanket but it’s worth it, I have to keep the feeling of living here as long as possible, I love this house, I can’t bare to leave. People keep coming over and bringing us things, I love it but everytime they come over, I can’t help but think about us being gone from them for however long. This sucks.

– Yuki

Chapter 6: Home is a Horse Stall, pages 49-58

Oh my, walking into these barbed wire fences is worrisome. I don’t know how I am going to keep my family happy while we are in these camps. If I can’t make my family happy, I don’t know what I will do with myself. The bathrooms don’t have doors, the showers don’t have walls. I am just happy we have our hot plate and tea to soothe our nerves and forget about all that is happening. images

– Mother

Chapter 7: A New Friend, pages 59-65

I woke up quite early this morning, and since grandma was already up and there had to be other people awake, grandpa started working on his woodshop project. I mean everybody has to be awake, it’s 9 a.m. already. But I guess I was wrong because the girl next door yelled at grandpa for waking her up, but she thought it was her brother and she apologized. Her name is Yuki and grandma invited her and her family inside for some tea and sweet cakes that we brought from our store. Yuki and I walked around the camp to see if everybody else hated this place as much as we did, we all heard the same complaints. Who knows how long we’ll all be in here.

– Emiko